Landscape Design Awards
Image by nextvoyage from Pixabay
Landscape Design

Landscape Design Awards

The annual World Landscape Architecture Awards seeks to honour landscape architects around the world for their outstanding work and promote the profession across the world. The Awards endeavour to recognise innovative work (conceptual and built) by landscape architects. World Landscape Architecture seeks to provide the opportunity for landscape architects from all countries to be recognised on the world stage by their profession.


Jurors will be requested to assess entrants in the following four (4) categories:

– Built Design Award

– Conceptual Design Award

– Research & Communications Award

– Student Award (Design or Research)

Jurors will also be requested to assess the winners of four categories and award the Landscape Architecture Award (highest award).

The Editor also reserves the right to select one project that they deem to be the winner of the WLA Editor’s Award.


Each category will be awarded the following

– Award of Excellence (only 1 per category) – receive a plaque and full featured article in WLA Magazine

– Merit Award (only 1 per category) – receive award and published in WLA Magazine


All landscape architects who are members of landscape architecture organisations (AILA, ASLA, CSLA, LI, HKILA, IFLA, ILASA, NZILA, MLAA, etc) or who have graduated (in the past year) from or currently studying in landscape architecture at university are eligible to enter the World Landscape Architecture Awards. Students must provide a copy of their student ID details – Name, University, Student Number/Identifier to confirm their eligibility. Projects should have been completed between January 1 2015- 31 December 2016.

Any client or organisation who wishes to enter a project must have written permission from the landscape architect or design firm.

Jurors and Employees of WLA Magazine & World Landscape Architecture or associated companies are ineligible to enter.

Shortlisting of Entries Announced
April 17 – Winners Announced


WLA is very proud to announce the five world renowned jurors who have experience in working in different parts of the world as landscape architects and designers.

Martin Barry – Founder & Chairman, reSITE; Co-Founder & CEO, City Crew
Martin is a landscape architect, the Founder and Chairman of reSITE, an international nonprofit organization exchanging ideas for more lovable and livable cities. He is also the co-founder and CEO of City Crew, a creative consultancy for cities and real estate investors.

Kimberly Garza – Founder, ATLAS Lab
Kimberly Garza is Founder and Director of ATLAS Lab, an urban design studio focused on enlivening and promoting healthy communities through landscape architecture and art.

Andrew Grant, Founder & Director, Grant Associates
Andrew is a Landscape Architect whose work explores the connection between people and nature and he formed Grant Associates in 1997 to test the creative possibilities of sustainable landscape architecture and ecological placemaking.

Jason Ho, Initiator of Mapping Workshop, China and a Founding Director of Urban Informality Lab
Jason has taught and practiced at a large number of universities and design firms in both Australia and China. Jason serves on Expert Advisory Committees of several international organizations

Mark Johnson, Principal, Civitas
Mark Johnson co-founded Civitas since has led the design of nearly $1 billion in built works. He is a recognized thought leader in the regeneration of inner city, brownfield and industrial areas.